Romance

Behind the White Coat

IMG_4031“Mommy, I love Audrey.” He said this casually, matter-of-factly, as he was scrambling out of the car after school.

“Oh, really? Why do you feel you love her?” I tried to sound casual, too, even though inside I was screaming: LOVE? You LOVE some girl? Look here, there is no possible way she is good enough so just stop right there, mister!

“She is so beautiful. And she is nice to me. AND, I like to kiss her.” He was so serious.

“You kiss her?” My voice *may* have risen an octave. Aren’t boys supposed to still think girls have cooties?

“I like when she chases to try to kiss me. I run slow on purpose so she she can get me.” He stopped on the sidewalk and looked up at me, earnestly. “It’s romantic love.”

And I’ll be danged, he was serious.

My first thought was, What do you…

View original post 181 more words

Leave a Reply

